NaNoWriMo2015

Don’t get me wrong, the December holidays are important, but my holiday season kicks off with Halloween and NaNoWriMo.  October through November is great: fall really gets going, you get spooky costumes and campy movies, you get to write like crazy and no one blames you, and then you top it off at the end of November with a feast.

I mean, count me in.

Anyway, the time has come to start planning for that mad writing dash, so I’m announcing this early. I will be participating in NaNo again this year.  I’ll (probably) working on a project I’ve had in mind for a while– that is, if I don’t decide to work on the Clara Delaney sequel.   The synopsis is directly copied from my NaNo writer’s page:

Alicia Penn is a thirteen-year old book nerd: she loves reading and writing, she hates math, and she perpetually feels like she doesn’t fit in.

Her many friends clearly don’t actually like her, after all, and her parents could never understand what she’s going through.  Her solace lies in stories: particularly, in her novel, her magnum opus.  In the world of her own creation, she’s Alexandra Lewis, badass warrior poet extraordinaire.  Fighting alongside with Enchantress Marcella The Gray (based off her only real friend Sarah Blacke), they’ve got the whole world at the tip of their fingers.

Then Sarah dies unexpectedly.  Everything changes.

The story is told from three somewhat-experimental perspectives.  The first is Alicia’s from a decade later, at the age of twenty-three, as she recounts how the incident changed her.  The second is through Alicia’s journal, which is highly-influenced and occasionally downright plagiarized from my own journal at that age.  The third is through Alicia’s novel, as her characters find themselves rocked by the death of a kid they didn’t even know existed.

All in all, it should be an interesting ride.

If this does work out and I get into graduate school and I don’t get too frustrated with it and I decide it’s worth following…  It might end up being a Master’s thesis project. We’ll see.

Jury’s still out if I’ll do a posting-excerpts hiatus over November like I did last year, or if I’ll be updating with thoughts on NaNo.  Blog will return to normal next week, for the time being.

 

Leave a Reply

