Year in Poetry

Quick post today, since I’m on vacation with my family.

There’s this thing I’ve been trying to do for the past couple of years.

It’s sort of NaNoWriMo-inspired: a poem, one per day, for a year of your life.  Total of 365, any length, any form, any subject matter.  The idea was to apply the whole NaNo ideal to poetry.  Get in the habit of writing, and the more you do it the better you get.  Lots of it’s crap, but some it’s good.  Maybe you have something publishable by the end of things.

I tried it for the first time starting on my nineteenth birthday, and managed about six months’ worth of poems.  That was the best I’ve ever done: at age twenty I managed just a month, and twenty-one three months.  Twenty-two and twenty-three, I abandoned the tradition.

Now that I’m twenty-four, I’m trying again.  As of this writing I’m on track, but that’s probably because my birthday was Sunday.  (Yet another reason Livetweet Books was postponed/cancelled on Saturday: festivities!)

Anyway, I’m making this post to see if anyone wants to try this with me.  May 2015 to May 2016. 365 poems, or as many as you can write. Since my birthday’s in the past, I’ll let you go from the date of this post, May 19, to May 19 of next year.

Let’s see how this goes!

5 thoughts on “Year in Poetry

Leave a Reply

