Writing Humor and Why I’m Really Not That Funny.

Surprise Thursday post!

As followers of this blog will know, I’ve taken a break from blogging for this month to work on NaNoWriMo.  Writing a novel is a lot of work, so I’ve been posting teasers of my work every week until I finish it.  Before I say anything else, let me say this. This book is good: I’m really, really excited to get it published.

But writing this book has given me a weird insight, one that every comedian and funny writer in the world will probably want to slap me for.  Guys, humor is hard.

I don’t really consider myself a funny person.  I did go through a period in fourth grade where I wanted to be a comedian, but that baffled most of my friends and family: I was an incredibly serious child.  Even now, my humor is mainly self-depreciating or founded deeply in absurdity, of which there is no shortage in my life.  So when I sit down to write a funny book, I come up blank.   I don’t know how to put in gags like “What’s wrong with being drunk?/You ask a glass of water!” or “Bring me a shrubbery” or any of the classics.  I’m convinced I’m already at a disadvantage: I’m not British.

What challenges are you all facing in your novels?  What’s the hardest part of whatever you’re writing right now?

One thought on “Writing Humor and Why I’m Really Not That Funny.

  1. You say you’re not funny, but that bit about being disadvantaged by not being British is pretty good :)

    If being self-deprecating and pointing out the absurdities of life isn’t humor, then there are a lot of folks out there laughing for no reason.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

