NaNoWriMo 2014: Excerpt Four

For the next four weeks two weeks, I’ll be participating in NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month.  The following is an excerpt from my project, The Thrilling Adventures of Clara Delaney; or, the Misfortunes of Isaac Rowe.

I’m having a lot of fun writing combat at the moment, but this scene was just too silly not to throw in there…

“Okay, Isaac, you see that little green blipper on the side of the hull? By the dorsal engine?”

“I see a little charred blipper that might have some green paint on it, sure.”

“That’s what I thought. That’s the central comms relay. How bad is it?”

“I’d let you know if I could tell what it’s supposed to look like.”

“Great. Okay, most of that is a signal extender, Isaac. It does some neat sonic tricks that make it possible to extend the signal for a couple light-years’ radius. We don’t actually need that right now, we just need some sort of a signal. So do you see the two lines leading away from it? How damaged are those?”

“Pretty damaged, I can see inside them…”

“Good. Reach in, grab the cables. There’s a wire stripper on your belt, use that. Then twist ‘em together like you’re twisting your panties in a knot, like you’re so fond of doing.”

“Moron. Won’t I get fried?”

“Hopefully not. I think the power sac got hit too, so we’ll work on that—”

The lights in the ship dimmed for a moment. Zork regarded the surge with mild alarm and embarrassment. “Isaac? You okay?”

“I’ll tell you what you can do with your power sac, Zork.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

